Individuals convicted of certain arson offenses are required to register their address with their local law enforcement agency. If the person’s conviction was after November 30, 1994, the requirement to register is lifetime. Prior to that date, arson registration was for a period of five years. The offender must notify their local law enforcement agency of their residence address within 14 days of moving into any California jurisdiction and must, within 10 days, advise of any change in address. At the time of registration at the Merced Police Department, the offender is interviewed, photographed and fingerprinted. The information obtained is maintained in a computerized database that is available to patrol officers and investigators. Arson registration information is not subject to disclosure to the public. Please refer to California Penal Code section 457.1 for further information.